TOP 5 WEDNESDAY | Current Favourites [February 1]

Hello everyone! Today I’m here to share with you all another ‘Top 5 Wednesday’. This week’s Top 5 Wednesday topic is ‘Current Favourites That Aren’t Books’. I’m super excited about this week’s topic, as I think that it’s a great idea to share anything and everything you’ve been loving recently, and not just those in a specific category (e.g. books, TV shows, movies, makeup items etc.). I chose something from five different categories for this week’s topic, and I hope that you all enjoy!

1. This Is Us (TV)

Oh My God. This Is Us has absolutely, 100% without a doubt sky-rocketed to my most favourite TV show of all time. I wanted to watch this show the second that it aired (in the US, we all know how behind Australia is with these US TV shows), but I was in the middle of my final semester exams at university, and so I completely forgot about it. However, now that it’s summer I’ve binge-watched This Is Us for the past few weeks and I am absolutely obsessed.  This is one of the most- if not the most- real-to-life TV shows that I’ve seen in a long time. It so accurately portrays the everyday struggles of family life, and portrays your not-so-typical family dynamic. It has heartache and heartbreak, humour, sadness, spirit and a lot of love in it, and I so highly recommend it to everybody.

2. Better Than Sex (Mascara)

Another thing that I’ve put off, the Better Than Sex mascara from Too Faced cosmetics. I was a little bit skeptical about trying this mascara, as the bristles and size and shape of the wand aren’t what I typically go for when choosing a mascara to purchase. But, when my brother bought me one of the limited edition Too Faced Christmas palettes, a sample size of the Better Than Sex mascara came with it, and so I had no reason not to try it. I love it. I love it so so so so much. I only have the sample size still, but I think that as soon as it’s run out that I’m definitely going to have to purchase the full size. This mascara gives me everything that I want; it gives volume to and separates my lashes without making them look clumpy, and coats on extra layers without making them feel heavy.

3. Castle on the Hill – Ed Sheeran

If you don’t know, Ed Sheeran is my all time favourite musical artist. I first found his music in 2010, and I’ve seen him live in concert three times now (well, as of February 1st 2017). So, naturally, when it was announced that Ed was finally releasing new music after a year of social media hiatus, I had my countdown at the ready. When Ed released ‘Shape of You‘, I really loved that song, but when he released ‘Castle on the Hill‘ I found myself sitting alone in my car with tears running down my cheeks. Listening to that song for the first time instantly transported me back to his concert, where I first heard his song ‘Photograph‘ live. It was my 19th birthday, and I finally got to hear my all time favourite song sung live, and Castle on the Hill brings back all of those memories for me. I’ve had this song on repeat everyday since it came out, and I already know that it’s my favourite song from his to-be-released album Divide. 

4. Jacquelyn Lovene (YouTube Channel)

I recently stumbled across this YouTube channel when I found myself in the deep, dark hole of beauty and makeup videos. Based on the recommendation of another beauty YouTuber that I subscribe to, I found myself looking up ‘Anti Haul’ and ‘decluttering’ videos on YouTube, and Jacquelyn’s channel was one of the first that I found. Soon, I found myself watching her videos late into the hours of the night (even if I had work or my internship the following morning), and adding even more of her videos to my ‘Watch Later’ list- just to have them there for future notice. I love how absolutely down-to-Earth Jacquelyn is, and how unafraid she is to be honest about what you do and don’t need in your makeup collection. I’m not a person who likes to own excessive and unnecessary amounts of anything, and watching Jacquelyn’s videos has definitely helped me with that.

5. Plunkett’s Vita E Natural Vitamin E Cream

It’s summer, so I’ve been moisturising at least once a day everyday for the past few months. I don’t get sunburnt all that easily, but when I do this is what I use to settle my skin and prevent my skin from peeling (and my sunburn from turning into a tan). This moisturiser has Vitamin E in it, which is a great ingredient to have if you have problems with acne scarring or other blemishes and marks that just haven’t faded. I’ve had a lot of struggle with acne and pimples since I was 12-13 years old, and this is one of the few products that I’ve used that’s actually made a noticeable difference to my skin. This product isn’t too pricey for what it is, and I find that it’s definitely a good investment to make, especially if you deal with such problem skin.

_________________________________________________________________

Let me know your ‘Top 5’ favourite things that aren’t books, I’d love to check them out (especially if one of them involves a YouTube channel- like I said, I’m in a deep, dark hole on that front). Do you love Castle on the Hill as much as I do? Or do you prefer Shape of You?

2017 Debuts (YA): https://www.goodreads.com/list/show/88440.YA_Debuts_2017

T5W: https://www.goodreads.com/group/show/118368-top-5-wednesday

emilyp0tter
– x0

Leave a Reply

