resolutions | 2017

Hello everyone! Today I thought I would share with you all some of my 2017 resolutions and goals. Now, unlike most people that I know 2016 actually wasn’t that much of a disaster for me personally. The world lost a lot of great people and a lot of other bad things happened environmentally, socially, politically etc., but I think I accomplished a lot of incredible things in 2016. However, that being said, from December last year I’ve had this weird feeling in my stomach that 2017 is going to be my year (excuse how disgustingly cliche that sounds). The end of last year bought with it the end of a lot of things in my life, most importantly the end of my undergraduate university degree, so 2017 will serve as the starting line for a lot of exciting and new things. I have a lot that I want to do in 2017, both academically and personally, so I thought I would share 5 of my resolutions and goals for this upcoming year. I hope that it’s a great one for all of us.

1. P O S T G R A D U A T E  S T U D Y

For those of you who don’t know, I graduated from university on 14 December 2016 with a Bachelor of Psychology and Criminology from RMIT University. Without a doubt that was one of the greatest and most satisfying accomplishments of my entire life. I graduated with distinction (or ‘honours’, depending on where you’re from), and that propelled me forward into being accepted into post-graduate study for 2017. I’ll be starting my post-graduate diploma in Psychology in March of 2017, and I know that the workload will be a lot more intense and research-focused than the entirety of my undergraduate degree, but I feel extremely ready and capable to tackle this challenge. I’ll be completing my studies at a different university than RMIT, and surprisingly this doesn’t scare me at all. If you’d asked 17-year-old Emily who was just about to enter into university for the first time, she’d be mortified at the idea of having to drive to a university that’s almost 40 minutes out of town, but almost 21-year-old Emily is ready for a change in scenery.

I know that I’ll get a lot out of this one year of an intense workload, and although I’m a little nervous about having completely new classmates, classes, tutors, lecturers, professors etc., I know that I need to put myself out there in order to get the most out of my time. I made so many wonderful friends throughout my undergraduate degree, and I know that I’ll be able to find some really great new friends this year too. Where my undergraduate degree consisted of more than 200 people, my post-graduate diploma has less than 100, and so being surrounded by a close-knit community of like-minded and motivated classmates will really help me both in my academic life, but also in my social life. 

2. I N T E R N S H I P

The day after I graduated from university I had an interview for one of the most exciting internship positions that I’ve come across. On 5 January 2017 I was officially offered a position with Headspace as a part of their Youth Mental Health Advocacy Group, which I will be starting in less than two weeks time. This position lasts the entire year, and I’m so excited to be starting this journey while also continuing on with my studies in psychology. The Youth Advocacy Group proposes, organises, manages and carries out a whole range of activities for the young people who attend Headspace, as well other side projects. Although I haven’t yet met the other members of the YAG, I know that they must be just as passionate and just as motivated about psychology and mental health as I am, and I can’t wait to see what we accomplish together throughout 2017.

I’ve never been the best at time management, and so completing an internship alongside an intense post-graduate and research workload won’t be easy, but I’m going to have to teach myself how to manage my time more efficiently this year. I’m equally excited about my internship as I am for going back to university, and so I have to find that balance between the two of them to get the most out of both. I’ve never had an internship before and so I want to dedicate so much of myself to it this year. I’m so ready and willing to jump right into anything that the YAG proposes, and to hone the skills I’ve developed throughout my undergraduate degree. This field is one that I care so much about and have been affected by personally, and so my passion for mental health- particularly among young people- is so important to me, and a subject that I think deserves a lot more recognition and awareness. That’s what I hope to accomplish foremost at Headspace in 2017.

3. W R I T I N G

It’s no secret at all that I almost completely abandoned Little Talks in 2016 (and 2015 as well, let’s be honest here), and that makes me so sad. I’ve loved writing since I was 11 years old, and the fact that I have such a wonderful platform to express my opinions and display my writing and I’m not utilising it as much as I could be? That makes me even more sad. I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again, I want to make this year the year that I really make the most of Little Talks. I want to review more books and more movies, show you what I’ve been loving and hating in recent months, what TV shows I’m currently obsessed with and which authors I’ve recently discovered. I want to use this platform for so much more, and to just use it so much more overall, and that’s not going to happen unless I knuckle down and just do it.

4. L E A R N  G R E E K

When I started kindergarten at the tender age of 3 I couldn’t speak English particularly well. My entire family is Greek- both of my parents, all four of my grandparents etc.- and so I was literally raised to speak Greek, but over the years (i.e. since I was 3 and now that I’m almost 21) I’ve retained next to nothing of the language. I can say the alphabet, can mostly understand my parents and grandparents when they speak Greek and can use the most basic phrases such as ‘yes’, ’no’, ‘please’, ‘thank you’ and ‘you’re welcome’, but other than that my knowledge of the language is dismal at best. So naturally I really want to start re-learning the language again in 2017, not just because it’s cool to speak more than one language and because it looks good on your CV, but because without it, I won’t be able to communicate with my grandparents as well as I’d like to. Of my four grandparents, only one can speak English to a decent extent, so I think it would be a lot easier for me to learn Greek rather than force them to speak English on my account.

I’d also love to travel to Greece at some point in my life, and although English is now widely spoken throughout Greece by most people, I’d still love to be able to travel over there and be able to communicate properly and in the traditional language. I have a lot of family that live in Greece, and it kind of scares me to think that if I ever see them while I’m over there, our time together would become awkward and full of basic hand gestures. So, I’m enlisting the help all of my relatives for this resolution in 2017.

5. M O R E  R E S P O N S I B I L I T Y

I want 2017 to be the year that I become a lot more responsible, financially, socially, around the house, and in every other way you can think. I like to think that I’m a pretty responsible person already, but there are a lot of adult purchases that I want to make during this upcoming year, and a few other adult things I’d like to save up for, including a holiday that I’d like to go on in 2018. In 2017 I’m going to have to be a lot more responsible with my time anyway, what with managing school, a social life, my internship, family time, reading, writing, exercising etc., so I think I should be able to fit in some other responsibilities too. In particular, I’d love to help my parents out some more around the house and my mum on days that she decides to work from home, and I’d also like to help my cousin out some more by babysitting her children. I think it would be nice to give her some time alone with her husband, or for her to have a day to herself even, so I’d definitely like to be around some more for my family in 2017.

_________________________________________________________________

So, there they are, my five (main) resolutions for 2017. I really hope that this year I’m able to really focus on all of these resolutions, and that at the end of the year I’m able to say that I accomplished each and every one of them.

Let me know what your 2017 resolutions are down below, and until next time …

emilyp0tter
– x0

Leave a Reply

