Top 5 Wednesday (November 30, 2016)

Hello everyone! I know it’s been a (very) long time but I’m back and here today to share with you all another Top 5 Wednesday. This week, the topic for Top 5 Wednesday is:

F A V O U R I T E   V I L L A I N S 

Now, I have a lot of favourite villains, and not because I have a sick sense of loving characters that do terrible, terrible things, but because I find villains to be one of the most interesting- and sometimes even the best- parts of any novel. I’m not including Voldemort or Dolores Umbridge in this list because I’ve said in the past that these two are probably the most loathed characters in all of literature, and well because they’re two obvious spot fillers in any villain-related list. So, excluding those two, here’s the list of my top five favourite villains:

1. Victor Vale & Eli Evers – Vicious by V.E. Schwab
This is also known as the world’s most conflicting case of “who’s the actual villain in this story …”. Victoria Schwab is known for writing incredibly addicting and morally grey characters, who- at the best of times- show you that you can love someone, even when they do something bad.

2. Aidan – Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff
aka I’ve never been more terrified of a computer and/or artificial intelligence before in my life. I don’t know how Amie and Jay did it, but they managed to create one of the most terrifying “villains” (I use the word loosely here. Can a computer really be considered a ‘villain’?) in young adult literature.

3. Sebastian Morgenstern – The Mortal Instruments by Cassandra Clare
Sebastian Morgenstern himself defines “you’re beautiful, but you’re evil, but you’re beautiful”. What makes Sebastian so intriguing is his warped sense of dedication and loyalty, not only to the war he’s caused, but more eerily to the family he forces to be by his side. Sebastian forces love and forces family, and doesn’t understand that neither of those things can be pushed onto others.

4. Maeve/ Amarantha & Ianthe– Throne of Glass by Sarah J Maas
Any villainous female character that Sarah J Maas writes, I despise with every fibre of my being. Maeve is power-hungry, obsessional and too powerful for her own good, Amarantha is purely psychotic and Ianthe, my God, she just needs to get laid, but I won’t be happy until any and all of these women have been destroyed.

5. The Darkling – The Grisha Trilogy by Ruin and Rising
The Darkling is full of mystery and allure, so I understand completely why Alina felt attracted to him. The Darkling is that type of villain where you hear about him from other readers, and when you start reading the book you don’t understand why everyone else seems to hate this character, you actually kind of like him- really like him- maybe even love him, but then that one thing happens and you start to doubt everything you’ve ever thought, but that sense of attraction is still there somehow and lasts and lasts and lasts … You know how this one ends.

Thank you all for reading, and I’m hoping to see you all again soon!

emilyp0tter
– x0

Leave a Reply

