Top 5 Wednesday (June 15, 2016)

Hello everyone! I’m back today with another ‘Top 5 Wednesday’ blog post. In case you didn’t know already, Top 5 Wednesday is a group created by the wonderful Lainey from ‘gingereadslainey’ on Youtube (Lainey), which is now hosted by the lovely Sam from ‘thoughtsontomes’ on Youtube (Sam). There’s also a Goodreads group for Top 5 Wednesday (T5W Goodreads).

So this week’s Top 5 Wednesday topic is ‘Favourite Literary Fathers / Father Figures’, and surprisingly I kind of struggled with this one. There was a completely obvious choice here (which I think you may be able to guess already) but apart from that, I had to think a little extra hard this week (which on top of my exam study, wasn’t that much fun). These aren’t really in any particular order either (aside from my number one choice, which I’ll clearly state) but aside from that, let’s just jump straight into it shall we?

Vampire_Academy

So first off, we have none other than Ibrahim ‘Abe’ Mazur from the Vampire Academy series by Richelle Mead. As soon as we meet Abe in this series, we learn that he’s an extremely powerful and wealthy Moroi, albeit an unlikely contestant for a Father of the Year award anytime soon. However, once Rose learns that Abe is actually her father, their entire dynamic changes and I really appreciate that Richelle Mead included moments in this series (mainly in books 5 and 6) where Abe expresses some fatherly tendencies. It’s clear in the end that Abe really does care for Rose, and at one point in his life really did care for Rose’s mother Janine. So, despite the nickname ‘Zmey’ (which in Russian translates to ‘snake’), I really do believe that in the end, Abe Mazur is a pretty cool dad.

Cover_ravenboys_300

Next, we have Richard Gansey II. Now, I’ve only read The Raven Boys and The Dream Thieves in this series, so I can’t exactly base this man off very much content, but from the second book alone he really made an impact. Gansey is one of my favourite characters in this series (at least so far) and seeing his entire family and his family lifestyle in The Dream Thieves was so wonderful. It was a great insight into his childhood and upbringing, and the way that Gansey and his father interacted in that book alone really had me smiling and cherishing some of my own memories with my dad. I adored their bond, and can’t wait to see if we get any more of it in the following books in this series.

200px-AGameOfThrones

Oh Eddard. I miss you. Of all the characters in Game of Thrones, of all the evil and cunning and manipulative bastards there are, Ned was truly one of the good guys. Above everything and anything else, he was a loving father and husband. He set wonderful examples to all of his children, and helped shape them into the characters that they are now, either directly or indirectly. I especially loved the way that Ned approached Arya, his youngest daughter, and respected her decision to be a fighter instead of a ‘traditional woman’. I loved how he accepted Jon as a son, despite his surname, and how he raised him alongside his other children as an equal. Ned was loyal and kind, but stern when he needed to be. He fought for his children until his death, and I’m sure he would be fighting for them even beyond that if it were at all possible.

23381012

If you haven’t read this Shadowhunter novella, I would probably suggest skipping ahead of this one, just in case you don’t want to be spoiled about who I’m referring to exactly. So, that being said, I hope none of you are expecting me to name Valentine Morgenstern or Robert Lightwood here, because I’m not. No chance in hell. In fact, I don’t think there are any particularly pleasant fathers or father figures in this series (and by this I mean the Mortal Instruments series, there are many that I could name from the Infernal Devices trilogy) aside from the two that I’m actually referring to here. So, who else is there beside the ever so wonderful and glamorous Magnus Bane and Alexander Lightwood. Oh, these two. These two just absolutely melt my heart in all of their ‘new parent’ glory. I was genuinely surprised and shocked when I read this novella, I was not at all expecting this to happen anytime soon for Malec. But oh boy I’m so glad that it did. They’re one of my all time favourite fictional relationships, and seeing them starting to build their own little family just gives me everything I never knew that I needed and more.

Harry_Potter_and_the_Philosopher's_Stone_Book_Cover

Finally, my inadvertent number one choice for father/ father figure has to go to Arthur Weasley. How could this not be my number one choice for a category like this? Arthur Weasley is one of those characters that’s just so wonderfully innocent and pure. Amongst all of the mess that is the return of Lord Voldemort, Arthur (and Molly) never once turn Harry away from The Burrow or refuse him a place to stay. They offer Harry the love and protection of parents that was cruelly taken away from him as a child, and do their best to provide him with comfort and safety as much as they possibly can. Whether it’s a home-cooked meal or a visit to Diagon Alley, Arthur (and Molly) do what they can to make a home for Harry at The Burrow, and amongst the Weasley family. In effect, they’re the best sort of adoptive parents that Harry never thought that he would ever have.

So there we have it. Those are my top 5 favourite fictional father/ father figure characters. I really hope that you enjoyed my list, and I’ll hopefully be posting something new soon, so until then, goodbye!

emilyp0tter
– x0

Leave a Reply

