30 DAY BLOG CHALLENGE (DAY 19)

DAY 19: Your favourite movie

FERRIS BUELLER’S DAY OFF
Firstly, I just want to disclaim that if you happen to follow me on Twitter at all, (@lulemily), then you’ll know that my all time favourite movie is Ferris Bueller’s Day Off. I mean, my ‘name’ is ‘ferrisbueller’…..

url

I watched this movie for the very first time only three years ago. My year 12 literature teacher was literally the best teacher ever, and after a long hard week of tests and assignments and exam preparation, decided to give us a different type of education this one particular lesson. The entire 50 minutes was spent watching movie trailers and listening to movie soundtracks, and it was during this 50 minutes that I had my first ever dose of Ferris Bueller. A few shocked faces turned toward me when I’d (stupidly) mentioned that I’d never seen the movie before (including my best friend, how did she not know this?). But I absolutely adored the trailer so I went home that afternoon, downloaded the movie, neglected all of my academic responsibilities and watched Ferris Bueller’s Day Off. Twice.

I went to school the next day, bleary-eyed and tired as hell, and ran straight toward my literature teacher (who also happened to be my homeroom teacher at the time, so he was never hard to find), gushing endlessly over this movie. Everything from the characters to the setting to the time period, the humour, the underlying themes and message and overall sense of fun that I felt while watching this movie …. Oh man. It got me. I felt like I was being understood during this movie. I felt like I was a part of Ferris’ gang and that I could ditch school if I wanted to, just to have a day off and go on an unexpected adventure.

If you’re ever feeling alone, adventure-less, nostalgic for your youth, or if you feel as though you need something to make you feel young again, watch this movie. Twice.

emilyp0tter
– x0

Leave a Reply

