30 DAY BLOG CHALLENGE (DAY 16)

DAY 16: Your thoughts on education

I’m not going to go into too much detail in today’s blog post, as this could easily turn into a controversial topic and it’ll undoubtedly draw unwanted negative attention. How do I feel about education? This is such a random topic, but nevertheless we’re going to talk about it.

I’m blessed, extremely blessed, to have had the best possible education throughout my childhood. I went to two different kindergarten centres when I was 3 years old. At the age of 4 I started primary school. I went to a very small primary school, where there was a total of about 180 students throughout all seven year levels. My grade prep class had about 15 children in it, but regardless I absolutely adored it. I loved being a part of such a close-knit classroom. The teacher would always be willing (and able) to help every student that needed his/her assistance, and if for some reason they couldn’t, another student was always willing to step in. Every week, we each had our own roles and responsibilities throughout the classroom, which included things such as: whiteboard cleaning, answering the phone, marking the sticker chart or putting up the chairs every afternoon. I went to a private, Catholic primary school, which followed into my attendance at a private, Catholic (all-girls) high school. I didn’t mind this at all but the transition wasn’t without it’s difficulties. Whereas my primary school taught almost 200 students, my high school taught just shy of 1000. I started high school at only 11 years old (I was one of the youngest in the entire year level), and only a few of my friends from primary school had followed me to the same high school. It got a lot easier though. Almost every girl, no matter what school she came from, was in the exact same position as I was, and it wasn’t until I actually spoke to someone that I didn’t know that I realised that it was actually a lot easier than I thought it would be. For the most part, I really enjoyed high school. I’ve been out of high school for just over two years now, and yeah I have those days where I’m extremely nostalgic and wish I could go back (mostly to my final year), I also recognise how much fun life outside of high school really is. I can drive now, I’m over the age of 18 (well and truly), I’m still a kid for the most part but I’m not restricted to the limitations of high school anymore. I can wear what I want, do what I want whenever I want, I don’t have to limit the amount of piercings I have in my ears or stop myself from dying my hair because I’d get in trouble with the school. I can wear skirts that are short as I want them to be. I don’t have to wear stupid school shoes that hurt my feet, or white socks that just have to be knee-high. I don’t have to be careful about which teacher might turn the corner of the courtyard and catch me playing a game, or texting my mum on my phone.

With that being said though, I completely and whole-heartedly recognise the importance of education, and understand that not every single person in the world has the privilege, or the right of access to it. It’s entirely wrong to imagine that a little girl had to be shot in the head by the Taliban simply for defending her right, and other girls’ rights’ to be educated. It’s heart-breaking to think of all of the people that can’t go to high school, or university, or college simply because they can’t afford it or didn’t get that scholarship. Everybody is deserving of an education, and I think a lot of people need to start remembering that if they’re given the opportunity to learn, they should embrace it wholly.

emilyp0tter
– x0

Leave a Reply

