30 DAY BLOG CHALLENGE (DAY 10)

DAY 10: The best trip of your life

England & France 2013
As I’ve mentioned previously in one of these 30 day blog challenge posts, three years ago I went along on a school trip to England and France. We left Melbourne at three o’clock in the morning on January 4th, 2013 to embark on a three-week long adventure around England and France. We travelled across England on a coach bus, visiting numerous cities and sites, famous landmarks and not-so famous landmarks, and it was hands-down the best time of my life (despite the freezing cold winter weather).

Although we barely ventured outside of Paris, the city of love didn’t disappoint once (well, maybe once, but that’s insignificant in hindsight). All of us met so many new people along the way. We made new friends, reconnected with old ones, caught up with family (if we were fortunate enough to have any overseas that lived nearby), and as cheesy as it is to admit, learned a lot about ourselves. I’ve said this before and I’ll say it again, but this trip taught me so much about responsibility and ownership. I didn’t have my parents or my older brother there beside me to take care of my passport and make sure I didn’t lose it, I didn’t have anyone to tell me what I should have for lunch, or when to shower, what time we had to wake up the next morning or what the best souvenir was in the shop. More than anything though, I didn’t have anyone to teach me the importance of responsible packing. I had to manage my spending on my own and trust myself enough to know that my outfit for the day really did look nice. It helped having such an incredible roommate for the majority of the trip, but there’s no one quite like your own mother to tell you the hard, cold truth about what you look like.

The girls I travelled with were (and still are) some of my best friends in the entire world, and the teachers that took on the responsibility of caring for 33 teenage girls are, to this day, some of my best friends too. Everyday since we landed, I’ve thought about this trip. I constantly look back at photos and videos, every little memory that I made. I even have a home-made canvas of some of my most favourite photos hanging above my bed. I have such heavy nostalgia for both of these beautiful countries. I can’t wait to see them again.

emilyp0tter
– x0

Leave a Reply

