Hyped Books I Don’t Feel Like Reading

So the idea for this blog post originally came from Sam from ThoughtsonTomes’ blog. Every week, Sam posts a Top 10 Tuesday list, and this week’s topic is: ‘Hyped Books I Don’t Feel Like Reading (Ever/Just For Now), and I thought it would be fun to create a list of my own. So, without further adieu, here are ten books I honestly don’t think I’ll ever read, or ever have an interest in reading.

Disclaimer: The reason(s) behind why some of these books have made this list vary. They’re on this list either because they’ve been significantly over-hyped by the reading community, over-hyped on Goodreads especially, or I just simply have no interest in the book’s content. Also, I apologise in advance if any of the following books that I mention offend anyone who may see these books as some of their all-time favourites. But just remember that we’re all entitled to our own opinions, and these are simply my own.

THE LIST

  1. Saga | Brian K. Vaughn & Fiona Staples
    Oh my goodness, if ever there were a more over-hyped graphic novel series than Saga.
  2. The Fever Series | Karen Marie Moning
    I’m not quite sure where the hype for this one came from, but it’s quite literally taken over my social media.
  3. An Ember In The Ashes | Sabaa Tahir
    Man oh man, when this beauty came out, it was all the rage. No one could help but mention the fact that this book was being marketed as ‘one of the best stand-alone fantasies you’ll ever read’ (although it’s now been optioned as a series, so there’s that).
  4. Ready Player One | Ernest Cline
    Yes, I love gaming, I love Star Wars, I love Harry Potter and yes, I love the 1980s. But do I want to read a book about all of the above? Not particularly
  5. The 5th Wave | Rick Yancey
    With all of the hype surrounding the movie adaptation of this book, at least for now, I’m going nowhere near it.
  6. The Lunar Chronicles | Marissa Meyer
    Once upon a time I might have been interested in reading this series, but by and large has that opinion changed.
  7. Six of Crows | Leigh Bardugo
    Don’t get me wrong, I’ve read and loved Leigh Bardugos’ ‘Grisha’ trilogy (although I’ve yet to finish the third book in the trilogy, Ruin and Rising), but I think I might need some time before I settle down and read this one. At least until some of the hype dissipates.
  8. Falling Kingdoms | Morgan Rhodes
    I will probably, honestly, never read this book. I just won’t. And that’s nothing against the author or the series, it’s just that I’ve read a lot of Young Adult fantasy novels in my time, and I don’t think there’s anything particularly new or original to discover out there. I’m definitely distancing myself from this one.
  9. Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children | Ransom Riggs
    Eh. That’s all I can say really. I have no interest in reading this series at all, despite the fact that the illustrations and photography it contains is quite intriguing.
  10. The Knife of Never Letting Go | Patrick Ness
    I adored Patrick Ness’ ‘A Monster Calls’, and I’ve owned the first book in this trilogy for a very long time but as that time has gone on, my interest has decreased significantly, probably to the point where I have absolutely no interest in reading this book anymore.

emilyp0tter
– x0

Leave a Reply

