[A Very Collective] Book Haul

Over the last couple of months, I seem to have accumulated quite the fair number of books which to me is never a bad thing but alas, deserves a whole blog post dedicated to it. I’m super excited to finally own all of these books (some old, some new, some read, some unread) and am so glad to have them sitting pretty on my shelves and added to my wondrous collection. I won’t go into too much detail about each of these books individually, so to make up for that I’ll be sure to link the Goodreads page for each of them below.

And before you say it (and I know that you’re thinking it), I know I have a book buying problem. I know, okay?

#1. The Bone Season (The Bone Season, #1) by Samantha Shannon
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/17199504-the-bone-season?from_search=true
This is a more recent purchase for me, as I bought it spontaneously sometime within the middle of January. I’ve heard nothing but incredible things about this book, as well as it’s newly released sequel ‘The Mime Order’, and knew that I had to own it and read it for myself. However, I’ve only been able to find the tall paperback edition of this book recently (though for $8 I’m not complaining one bit). I know that it supposedly takes a little bit of time and effort to understand the world-building and premise of this story, but my intrigue has the best of me in this scenario so after I finish my current read I will most definitely be picking The Bone Season up soon thereafter! I not only have an insane amount of pressure riding on me to read it from one of my best friend, but seeing as how this series was pegged (from the very beginning) to be a seven/eight/nine book long series, I think I want to get into it sooner rather than later.

#2. The Mime Order (The Bone Season, #2) by Samantha Shannon
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/17901125-the-mime-order?from_search=true
This is the long awaited sequel to The Bone Season, and I was lucky enough to have found it the day it was released.

#3. Slammed (Slammed, #1) by Colleen Hoover
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/15803858-slammed
Who hasn’t heard of Colleen Hoover? Not only has she been recommended to me endlessly on the internet and by some of my closest friends, but there are countless other people who can’t (and won’t) stop mentioning her name. I’ve heard excellent things about almost every single one of Colleen Hoover’s books, and Slammed just so happened to be the first one I read too. I’ve owned Maybe Someday and Ugly Love for much longer, but after picking up Slammed and reading the first couple of pages I was absolutely hooked and couldn’t put it down. I hope to get to the other two soon though, as well as the other two books in the Slammed series. After reading Slammed I was not only introduced to Colleen Hoover’s writing style, but I also understood the madness and obsession with her and her books, and I can’t wait to keep reading them all (even if they aren’t published yet, I want them all). This was also my first read of the new year, and there was no better way for me to kick off my reading year! It’s also kind of cool how this was Colleen Hoover’s first published novel, and also my first read of hers.

#4. Anna and the French Kiss (Anna, #1) by Stephanie Perkins
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/6936382-anna-and-the-french-kiss?from_search=true
According to almost every single review of this book (as well as the other two books in the ‘Anna’ companion series), Stephanie Perkins is the queen of young adult contemporary. Although I would arguably state that title belongs to Colleen Hoover, Stephanie Perkins does put up a fairly good fight with this series. I was extremely skeptical about picking up this book and reading it, simply because contemporary has never really been a favourite genre of mine, especially young adult contemporary. Especially considering the original covers of these books, I was definitely put off from them. However, again, I caved in, and I bought Anna and the French Kiss and basically devoured it in less than two days. I don’t think I’ve ever read a book that quickly before, and I’m not sure if it had anything to do with the easy going writing style, the fact that I’ve been to France myself and could easily picture the settings and the descriptions or if I’m just a sucker for cheesy, cute teenage love stories. Although this book isn’t a masterpiece of literature, the story is quite enjoyable and I did find myself wanting to read the next book, Lola and the Boy Next Door, almost immediately after finishing Anna.

#5. Lola and the Boy Next Door (Anna, #2) by Stephanie Perkins
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/9961796-lola-and-the-boy-next-door?from_search=true
I had to buy Lola. After reading Anna, I needed it. Although I didn’t quite enjoy it as much as Anna, I did like the story and the easiness of reading this book, which is one of the guaranteed things with Stephanie Perkins; her books are not hard to read at all. This was, again, an easy-to-read, cheesy teenage love story but that basically is what makes it such a fun read. I don’t own the final book in this companion trilogy, Isla and the Happily Ever After, as the editions of it that are sold in Australia don’t quite match up with the other two, but hopefully I’ll be able to buy and read that one too sometime soon.

#6. The Narrow Road to the Deep North by Richard Flanagan
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/17905709-the-narrow-road-to-the-deep-north?from_search=true
One of my reading goals for 2015 is to branch out, not only genre wise, but also to read more award winning novels. Not only does The Narrow Road to the Deep North have esteemed fame in it’s achievement of the Man Booker Prize in 2014, but it’s also a very relevant adult novel centred around Australian history during the Second World War. As a big fan of history and historical novels, this read really stood out to me and I’m so glad to have it within my book collection now. I hope that this will book will give me a great introduction into the adult historical fiction genre, but I can also predict that it will take me on a very emotional, and very hard-hitting, journey.

#7. All The Bright Places by Jennifer Niven
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/18460392-all-the-bright-places
The only thing I’m going to say about this book is that I’ve already read it, and it’s already going to be my most favourite read of 2015. This book had a major impact on me and the way that I look at myself, the world and most importantly the way in which the world perceives and labels mental illnesses and mental health in general. I was left dumbstruck and speechless after finishing this book, and it took me a moment or two to collect myself (and by this I mean stop myself from crying) and gather my thoughts properly. There aren’t any words to describe how much I loved this book, and I’m going to treasure forever the way that it’s affected me, helped me learn and grow and understand things I never would have thought about before. It deserves every single five star rating, every raving review and I think that a lot more people need to read this book.

#8. Falling Into Place by Amy Zhang
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/18163646-falling-into-place?from_search=true
I bought this for a similar reason that I bought All The Bright Places, though I haven’t read this one yet. From what I’ve read about and heard though, it has a very similar feel to it and a somewhat similar message behind it, so when I find myself getting into the mood where I need a little reminder about what’s really important and what’s real in the world, I’ll pick this book up. This is a fairly shorter contemporary book, as well as being Amy Zhang’s debut novel, and I’m lucky to have another (hopefully) incredible, and moving story waiting for me when I need it.

#9. The Goldfinch by Donna Tartt
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/17333223-the-goldfinch?from_search=true
This is another one of those books that is an award-winning, critically acclaimed novel that I’m hoping will help me branch out in my reading this year. I first heard about this book on YouTube, and at first I had no clue whatsoever what it was about or even that it was so popular. So when I walked into my local bookstore and saw it on the front display, I read the first page and fell head over heels in love with it. Although this is probably the longest book within this entire book haul (and quite possibly the largest/thickest in my whole collection), I’m still really interested in reading this and seeing for myself what all of the hype is all about.

#10. Great Expectations by Charles Dickens (Penguin Classic Edition)
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/6296632-great-expectations
Great Expectations is easily my favourite classic, and I’d been wanting to purchase this absolutely gorgeous edition of it for a very long time, so I did.

#11. Love Tanya by Tanya Burr
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/23643570-love-tanya?from_search=true
This is my most recent book purchase and is also perhaps the most surprising to me. I once told myself that I would never buy a book written by any YouTube sensation, regardless of if I happened to be their biggest fan or not. However, I recently saw Penguin Teen Australia’s interview with Tanya about her new book and her travels to Australia, and a little part of me couldn’t help but feel intrigued (as well as interested) in reading it. I don’t care so much for her beauty/hair care tips and tricks, but I do find myself interested in checking out the recipes she’s included throughout her book and the details on self-confidence and healthy living.

#12. The Whispers Of The Fallen (The Whispers of the Fallen, #1) by J.D. Netto
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/16049275-the-whispers-of-the-fallen
Okay look, when a book is available on the Kindle store for only $0.99 and you’ve been at least slightly interested in reading it for a while, you’d buy it too. I believe this is J.D Netto’s debut novel (please correct me if I’m wrong) but I’ve heard many people (who’s opinions I highly trust) really enjoy this novel and for only a dollar I couldn’t refuse it any longer. I’m currently reading this on the Kindle app on my phone, but only a few chapters at a time. I know that’s probably not the best way to get the full experience out of reading a book, especially a fantasy book, but I’m just in between too many other reads at the moment. I don’t really mind reading it this way either, as I’m finding that I really have to get used to the writing style of it. Hopefully if I really enjoy this I’ll be able to pick up it’s sequel, Rebellion, on my Kindle app and get to that before the third book (The Gathering of Shadows) is released sometime during this year.

#13. The Ruby Circle (Bloodlines, #6) by Richelle Mead
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/8709528-the-ruby-circle?from_search=true
This is one of my top three most anticipated releases of the year, not only because it’s the last book in the Bloodlines series but also because it’s most likely the last book that we’re going to be getting within the world of Vampire Academy. I started reading the Vampire Academy series almost six years, and the Bloodlines series nearly four years ago, during which time I’ve become extraordinarily attached to this world and these characters, and used to the idea of a new book (set in this world) being released every year. But now all of that is over with the release of The Ruby Circle. I’ve already read this (within a day in fact) and I’m only now (more than a day later) coming to terms with the fact that I’m finished with this captivating vampiric society. Richelle Mead is undoubtedly one of my most favourite authors, and although I still have the rest of her Age of X series to look forward to, a little part of me is still mourning the fact that I’ve now had to say goodbye to a huge cast of characters that have accompanied me for a significant portion of my adolescence. I’m almost nineteen years old, and I first started Vampire Academy when I was twelve (possibly newly thirteen), so it’s easy enough for me to admit that it’s hard to let go of these series. However, that being said, I’m more than thankful that these books, and this journey, exist.

#14. Red Queen (Red Queen, #1) by Victoria Aveyard
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/17878931-red-queen?from_search=true
I’m not sure if I’ve ever seen a book be so hyped up by the internet community before, and yes that’s partly why I bought this book. I love dystopian novels, when they’re done well that is, and I have such high expectations about this one. The premise of this novel, wherein the colour of your blood (red or silver) determines your place in society, is an idea that really fascinates me and intrigues me, and I know that if Victoria Aveyard is able to pull this off well, this novel will be an absolute standout of the year. More than likely this is the first book in a new dystopian trilogy, but if the ratings and reviews that I’ve seen thus far are trustworthy, then this book and the ones that follow are sure to be wonderful reads.

#15. I Was Here by Gayle Forman
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/18879761-i-was-here?from_search=true
The only other book I’ve read by Gayle Forman is the first in her ‘If I Stay’ duology (called If I Stay). I read that book in the lead up to the release of it’s movie adaptation (both of which I absolutely adored) and so when I heard the premise for Gayle Forman’s newest novel, I knew I wanted to read it. I’m not particularly interested in her other duology, but I Was Here is something that I think I will really enjoy. As with most of Forman’s books this one is also quite short and shouldn’t take too long to read overall, but in typical Gayle Forman fashion I’m expecting some very heavy content to be explored. I also really love the cover of this book (and not just because it matches the layout of the two books in her If I Stay duology, but partly because of that).

#16. The Last Time We Say Goodbye by Cynthia Hand
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/17285330-the-last-time-we-say-goodbye?from_search=true
I never had the intention of buying this book, but after watching a single YouTube video wherein this novel was explained and described, a part of me was interested. I soon found myself at my local bookstore, and seeing as how this was only $12, I couldn’t resist it. The UK edition has a beautiful cover, the vibrant yellow and orange colours really standing out upon the shelves, and it’s also surprisingly long for a young adult contemporary novel. I’ve recently been interested in, and found myself reading a lot of novels concerning the topics of suicide and mental health issues amongst adolescents, and so I can’t wait to eventually pick this one up and see how it compares to the rest. I’ve heard nothing but incredible things about Cynthia Hand’s ‘Unearthly’ trilogy, so I hope that these fantastic things can also be said about this novel too.

#17. A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness (Illustrated by Jim Kay)
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/8621462-a-monster-calls
This was such an impulse buy, I don’t even have an excuse to try and cover it up. I’d first heard about this a really long time ago, mostly raving reviews about the magnificent writing style that Patrick Ness uses to capture the reader’s attention. I think, technically, this book is a children’s one, though I’m not entirely sure. It’s also filled with beautiful illustrations and designs that really work well with the premise of the story and add that dimension of creepiness and darker themes/tones. This story was initially constructed by Siobhan Dowd, though unfortunately she passed away from a long struggle with cancer in 2009, wherein Ness picked up the novel and finished it on her behalf, dedicating it to her also. I’m also currently reading this, and I can’t wait to really get into it as I’ve never read anything by Patrick Ness before, nor an illustrated book in a very long time.

#18. Attachments by Rainbow Rowell
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/8909152-attachments?from_search=true
For Valentine’s Day, my boyfriend decided that as a little something extra, he would let me pick out two books to add to my collection. I’ve read (and owned) Rainbow Rowell’s two young adult novels Eleanor & Park and Fangirl, but prior to buying Attachments I’d never given any thought to her two adult novels. However, I’ve recently wanted a quirky, cute, fun little read and I know from many reviews that Attachments is the perfect choice for that. I love that the edition I now have matches my other two Rowell novels, and I’m very excited to see the difference in writing style between Rainbow Rowell’s young adult and adult novels (though I’m confident that they’ll be just as great, if not even more incredible).

#19. Alloy of Law (Mistborn, #0.5) by Brandon Sanderson
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/10803710-the-alloy-of-law
The second out of the two books I received for Valentine’s Day was Sanderson’s ‘Alloy of Law’. This is actually a companion novel to Sanderson’s renowned Mistborn trilogy, and is the first in many more novels to come that will take place in the world of Scadrial. I believe the second companion novel to Mistborn, Shadow of Self, is set to be released at the end of this year, and that there are at least two more to follow. All I know about Alloy of Law is that it’s set many centuries after the events that occur in the third and final book in the Mistborn trilogy, and centres around a new cast of characters (yet is set within the same world). It’s rather short (and I mean that as in ‘short for a Brandon Sanderson’ novel), and I can’t wait to follow on with this storyline and get back into this truly incredible world, one of the best I’ve ever known.

#20. Warbreaker by Brandon Sanderson
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/1268479.Warbreaker?from_search=true
My brother bought this for me unexpectedly only a few days ago, and I’m so thankful that he chose the right Sanderson book to add to my collection! I believe this is Sanderson’s only stand-alone fantasy novel, and I love the thought of not having to dedicate months and possibly years of my life to a new Sanderson fantasy series. I’m still slowly working my way through is Mistborn trilogy, and that’s the shortest series he’s written (or is currently writing) so owning a stand alone novel is quite the blessing. It’s not secret that Sanderson is slowly but surely becoming one of my newest favourite authors, and I can’t wait to get right into Warbreaker.

*Wipes brow* Phew, so that’s it guys. If you’ve made it to the end of this long, exhausting blog post then thank you so much for your time (and your dedication), I know this was all a lot to take in! Hopefully I won’t have such a large book haul anywhere in the near future, but who knows what’ll happen. It’ll be a surprise for all of us.

emilyp0tter
– x0

Leave a Reply

