Book Previews #1

Lately on Youtube I’ve seen many book vloggers doing these ‘book previews’ videos, and I think they’re a very neat idea. Basically, if you can’t guess for yourself, all this entails is a person listing a certain amount of books and reading either the first line, the first few lines or the full first paragraph of them. What this does is give the viewer a little bit of an insight and an understanding of what the book is about, what the author’s writing style is like as well as a general indication of whether or not the book may or may not be to your liking. If the premise of the story intrigues you, great, then add it to your list, but if not then you’ll be lucky enough to have avoided purchasing the book, reading it and disliking it.

So, I thought I’d try this out for myself and list the first few lines, or first paragraph of ten books I’ve selected from my shelves. Now I haven’t necessarily read all ten of these books, but I’ve deliberately done that so I can give myself a little bit of a kick up the backside to get my ‘to be read’ list much lower than it is at the moment. Among these though are some of my all time favourites that I’m shamelessly trying to publicise and persuade anyone and everyone out there to read as soon as possible (if not even sooner than that). So, here are my first ten book previews:

1. The Final Empire (Mistborn, #1) by Brandon Sanderson
[Prologue] “Sometimes, I worry that I’m not the hero everyone thinks I am. The philosophers assure me that this is the time, that the sings have been met. But I still wonder if they have the wrong man.”

[Chapter 1] “Ash fell from the sky. Vin watched the downy flakes drift through the air. Leisurely. Careless. Free.”

2. The Bone Season (The Bone Season, #1)- Samantha Shannon
“I like to imagine there were more of us in the beginning. Not many, I suppose. But more than there are now. We are the minority the world does not accept. Not outside of fantasy, and even that’s blacklisted. We look like everyone else. Sometimes we act like everyone else. In many ways, we are like everyone else. We are everywhere, on every street. We live in a way you might consider normal, provided you don’t look too hard.”

3. Legend (Legend, #1)- Marie Lu
“My mother thinks I’m dead. Obviously I’m not dead, but it’s safer for her to think so. At least twice a month I see my Wanted poster flashed on the JumboTrons scattered throughout downtown Los Angeles.”

4. These Broken Stars (Starbound, #1)- Amie Kaufman & Megan Spooner
[Prologue] “When did you first meet Miss LaRoux?”
“Three days before the accident”
“And how did that come about?”
“The accident?”
“Meeting Miss LaRoux”
“How could it possibly matter?”
“Major, everything matters”

[Chapter 1] “Nothing about this room is real. If this were a party at home, the music would draw your eye to human musicians in the corner. Candles and soft lamps would light the room, and the wooden tables would be made of actual trees. People would be listening to each other, instead of checking to see who’s watching them.”

5. The Shock Of The Fall- Nathan Filer
“I should say that I am not a nice person. Sometimes I try to be, but often I’m not. So when it was my turn to cover my eyes and count to a hundred- I cheated.”

6. The Winner’s Curse (The Winner’s Trilogy, #1)- Marie Rutoski
“She shouldn’t have been tempted. This is what Kestrel thought as she swept the sailor’s silver off the impromptu gaming table set up in a corner of the market.”

7. Vicious- V. E. Schwab
“Victor readjusted the shovels on his shoulder and stepped gingerly over an old, half-sunken grave.”

8. Burial Rites- Hannah Kent
“They said I must die. They said I stole the breath from men, and now they must steal mine.”

“Public Notice:
There will be an auction on the 24th of March 1828, at Illugastadir, for the valuables the farmer Natan Ketilsson has left behind.”

9. The Messenger- Markus Zusak
“The gunman, is useless.
I know it.
He knows it.
The whole bank knows it.”

10. Maybe Someday (Maybe, #1)- Colleen Hoover
“I just punched a girl in the face. Not just any girl. My best friend. My roommate.”

emilyp0tter
– x0

Leave a Reply

