BOOK HAUL [ Sydney Edition]

Towards the end of last year, my parents took a weekend trip away to Sydney, leaving me all on my lonesome with an empty house. Now, before you get any wild ideas, no I did NOT throw a wildly massive house party that ends up on the nightly news. A) I don’t have that many friends, B) I would get caught out even if I WANTED to throw a party and C) I had a much better time spending it with my boyfriend just cuddling on the couch, doing assignments and watching movies and corny morning cartoons. I know, we’re a hot couple. Nevertheless, the assignments and homework were (somewhat) completed, the house was kept in order (and by order I mean that I didn’t accidentally burn it down or leave the doors unlocked) and I had a great weekend.

My parents did too, and I’m so glad that they took this opportunity to get away for a while, even if it was only for two and a half days and I basically gave them a full list of stuff I wanted them to get for me while I was there…. Oops. The only thing I really asked them to get for me though were some books. Now I’m a self-proclaimed book nerd, book-a-holic and book collector, and I know that there’s this really great, cheap, discounted book shop in the heart of Sydney city and it’s not very often that I go there, let alone someone else I know that’ll go there. So when my parents told me that they were going to Sydney, naturally I demanded that they head on over to this place and check it out for me. Being my typical parents, they didn’t let me pay for them either. Which is great. Overall I got 7 books for a grand total of $40 which is absolutely insane. Books in Australia are NEVER that cheap and typically the cheapest you can get them are old, ‘nobody has ever even heard of this’ type of books or completely battered editions. I’ve always been so envious of America and even the UK in how cheap they’re able to get books, but at the same time I’m kind of glad that they’re not that ridiculously cheap here because let’s be real, I’m a poor uni student who very rarely ever spends more than $15 at a time.

I know you’re all here for the books, so let me share with you all the fabulous gems that my parents got me over this past weekend:

#1. The Rithmatist by Brandon Sanderson
I’ve read the first book in Sanderson’s Mistborn trilogy and I’ve been meaning to get to the second book in that series for a long time. After I fell in love with The Final Empire I wrote a whole list of Brandon Sanderson’s other works’ in the hopes of collecting them all throughout time. I’d read and watched a lot of good reviews about The Rithmatist, and seeing how it’s the first in a new series by him I was completely intrigued. When I saw this on the website I literally gasped out loud, then cried a little bit when I saw how cheap it was for a hardcover edition. This was one of the last books I told my parents to get and it’s probably the one that I’m most excited about too. The premise of the book sounds so amazingly interesting and unique (in typical Sanderson fashion) and by just flipping through the pages I can already tell that I’m going to be sucked right in to it. The book is full of just amazing drawings and cartoons, which perfectly complement the storyline of this book, and I can’t wait to dive in to it as soon as I can.

#2. Frankenstein by Mary Shelley
I have a copy of this on my shelves, but it’s my boyfriend’s edition and I kind of feel a little bad about having it for so long and just not getting around to reading it by now. Hopefully I’ll give it back to him soon and be able to read this new edition. This is actually a pretty short book and I think I’ll be able to read it pretty quickly but nevertheless my reading pace is very unreliable and unpredictable. I’m sure everyone knows the premise of this renowned classic, and it’s been one that I’ve meant to read for a long time simply due to the merit its received. I’m pretty pumped to jump in to this story, especially as it’s October at the moment and what better than a creepy, eery classic such as Frankenstein to read at a time like this?

#3. Tales of the Greek Heroes by Rick Riordan and Roger Lancelyn Green
Rick Riordan, my main man! You should all know by now that I’m an absolute fan of both the Percy Jackson and the Olympians series as well as the Heroes of Olympus series. They were my absolute childhood and adolescence, and they will forever be one of my favourite and most memorable series. I can’t even express enough how big of an impact these series have had on my life and I will forever buy and trust anything that Rick Riordan comes up with. Speaking of which, quick shoutout the fact that his next and newest series, Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asgard, is high up on my ‘most anticipated’ list. Now, combine him with Greek mythology and I am so absolutely there. This isn’t as serious a Greek mythology book as others are, and it is a little bit underrated and unknown but I think it’ll just be really cute to read, really quick to get through and something easy to read when I’m not in the biggest reading mood.

#4/ #5. The Illiad & The Odyssey by Homer
A close friend of mine studied The Odyssey as a part of her Literature elective at uni, and ever since I had to edit her textual analysis on it, I’ve been intrigued to read it. In year 12 we had to read a lot of work by ancient Greek writers and I’d had the thought of reading Homer many times since then but hadn’t got around to actually buying anything by him. I think a part of me just wants to read more of Homer because of my Greek heritage but I mean, whatever works right…

#6. Avatar (The Graphic Novel) by Michael Dante
Avatar was hands down my favourite show as a 10 year old. I absolutely loved the plot, the characters and the whole premise of bending the elements of the world to your will (well, if you were blessed with the ability). I had the biggest crush on Prince Zuko and completely shipped Aang and Katara. The way that Aang developed as a character and an Avatar really struck me, and when I saw this on the shelves of the store I just HAD to have it. Now that I own it I can’t stop smiling at it, which sounds completely insane and a little strange, but this is the neatest little book I’ve ever owned. It details the first two episodes of the TV show (almost to the tee) and has the cutest illustrations in it, I’m just totally in love. It’s not the greatest piece of literature of course, but it’s still a neat thing to own.

#7. The Silver Dream by Neil Gaiman and Neil Reaves
I had never even heard of this book before this weekend, but when my mum called me and told me that they were leaving the bookshop I quickly ran a search on their website for some popular authors that I knew to see if there was anything else that I wanted her to pick up for me before they left. I’d just run a similar search for Brandon Sanderson and come up with The Rithmatist, which I’d been wanting for AGES, so when this came up as the only result for Neil Gaiman I just automatically had to have it. I know nothing (Jon Snow) about this book, and I’ll confess that it’s definitely an immediate ‘author buy’ type of book for me. I’m excited to get to it though, as I’ve been meaning to venture outwards in what I read and what better way to do that than by picking a book that you know absolutely nothing about and just going for it right? Right. Unfortunately, I didn’t realise this as I asked my parents to get it for me though is that this book is the second in Gaiman’s ‘Interworld’ series to which I do not own the first book. I’ve never even heard about this series nor seen the first book anywhere so we’ll have to see about this one.

Note: This post was written during the time my parents were away, and I’ve not uploaded it since then (I’m not even going to try and come up with a reason). Nevertheless though, this is it, and I hope you guys have enjoyed this! I’m sure there will be plenty more book hauls to come soon (I may be writing one at the moment).

emilyp0tter
– x0

Leave a Reply

