The Mortal Instruments…. TV Show?

I first read the Mortal Instruments in 2010, in year 9, at the very innocent age of 14. This year, 2014, the series wrapped up with the sixth and final instalment of the series, City of Heavenly Fire, which was released on May 27th. When I first began the series, at the very persistent recommendation of a good friend, the third book (City of Glass) had just been released so I didn’t have all that much to catch up with. And it didn’t take me very long either. I absolutely flew through these books. I fell in love with the world, the characters, the storyline, the humour, the setting of New York City (even more so than I already had) and most importantly the author. Cassandra Clare just has this purely authentic and elegant writing style that crafts a story so magically and the three books together just meshed so well and created a story that’s stuck with me up until now. BUT. Originally, City of Bones, City of Ashes and City of Glass were written to be a trilogy of books but it was soon announced (after the release of CoG) that Clare would be writing THREE more instalments in the Mortal Instruments series. As a now 15/16 year old, I was absolutely thrilled. I couldn’t wait for more books. I started the countdown straight away and kept up to date with every single piece of news that was released in the lead up to City of Fallen Angels, City of Lost Souls and then eventually City of Heavenly Fire.

This series means a lot to me, as it was the first real series that I invested myself in to after the Percy Jackson and the Olympians series had wrapped up. If you haven’t guessed by now, I’m an extremely avid reader and Cassandra Clare is definitely one of my top three favourite authors. The way she writes just captivates me so when I found out that City of Bones was being translated into a film… I was stoked.

That was until it completely bombed in the Box Office though.

If the movie had been released all that time ago when I was only 14 years old I probably would’ve been obsessed with it, just as I had been with the books. But being 17 at the time of its release, and 18 now, I can’t appreciate it for its cinematic value, because it really doesn’t have any. This isn’t a blog post about the failure of the City of Bones movie, no, but I guess that’s why I’m so excited that this series and fandom are getting another chance with the TV series. Another chance at greatness, another chance to show so many people that this show is a lot more than a failed adaptation.

This series deserves so much. If you have read all of Clare’s work you’ll just know how wonderfully crafted and intricate they all are, and how wonderfully clever she is for inter-weaving her series together. The planning ahead and the little details that make her series so magnificent are what failed to translate onto the big screen (amongst other things too of course). For the writers and producers of the TV show I think they’ll just have so much room to allow for these smaller details and intricacies, allowing for so many characters to be introduced and thoroughly developed in a time span of much more than two simple hours. Cassandra Clare herself has said that she is a much bigger fan of TV shows and adaptations rather than movies, and I have faith that if she were to get involved with the project then it would become all the more credible and close to home. So many fans, from all across the world, are so incredibly excited for this opportunity and I am definitely one of them. This series is so, so close to my heart and I’m just praying to whatever ‘book to TV adaptation’ God there is up there that they don’t stuff it up. Again. Or else I’m going to be really annoyed, and mad, and just…

Hopefully once we get a little bit more information about casting and maybe even some behind the scenes shots, I’ll get another post up soon about this. This is something that I’m definitely going to be keeping my eye on, so stay tune!

– emilypotter
x0

Leave a Reply

