Top 5 Books/Series I Really Want To Start!

Hey all! So I know that its been a super duper long time since I’ve written a blog post *cowers shamefully* BUT I’m super excited to do this one for you today about the top 5 books or book series that I really want to read in the near future!

1. The Lux Series (Jennifer L. Armentrout)
This is without a doubt the series I most want to get to soon. I’ve had this on my TBR list for the longest time and it’s only been recently that I’ve really considered getting to it as soon as possible. I’ve heard incredible things about Jennifer L. Armentrout’s writing, not just in this series, but in her multiple other series and stand alone novels. The way she writes her characters is supposedly super relatable and witty and funny, and particularly with this series the main love interest, Daemon, is meant to be the ultimate heart throb (and who can honestly say no to that?) I think I have a slight innate pull towards this series simply because of Daemon’s name (I’m a sucker for bad boys named Damon okay) and I’ve never really read a book or a series to do with aliens before and I think its a very interesting a new concept that I’ll hopefully get to very soon 🙂 The books in this series (Obsidian, Onyx, Opal and Origin) are already out but the fifth and final book, Opposition is set to be released on August 5th, 2014. The books have also recently undergone a cover change (which is unfortunate for readers who already own the series) but luckily I’ll be buying the newly released bind-up editions which will thankfully match Opposition when it comes out. The new editions also contain bonus material and never before seen chapters/snippets in Daemon’s point of view so if I come to love him as much as I think I will, this will definitely be a very good thing.

2. Throne Of Glass (Sarah J. Maas)
This book is probably the most hyped up book/book series that I’ve ever come across. The first book in this series, Throne of Glass, started to gain a lot more attention after the release of the second book in this supposed 6 book series, Crown of Midnight, which was released late in 2013. I don’t think I’ve yet seen a negative review about this book and if that doesn’t say enough than well… Also, the main character that we follow, Celaena Sardothien, is this kick-ass assassin that knows how to hold herself and protect herself, and knowing that just draws me in so much as I’m a huge fan of main female leads that aren’t the stereotypical, pathetic ‘damsel in distress’. What also intrigues me about this book is the love triangle between Celaena and Prince Dorian and Captain of the guard, Chaol. Now I know love triangles are pretty much the most over-rated aspect of any YA book but from what I’ve heard this series just takes it to a whole new, never before seen, type of twist and I can’t wait to read all about it. 

3. The ‘Shatter Me’ Trilogy (Tahereh Mafi)
Wow am I excited to get to this. One of the main things I’ve heard about this trilogy is the confliction between ‘Team Adam’ and ‘Team Warner’ and the ultimate change in affection that people take between the two. There are so many things about these books that are a mystery to those who haven’t read it, like me, that those who have have tried to keep hidden and being the naturally suspicious person that I am, I’m dying to know ALL OF THE THINGS. Not only that, but the ratings for these books are also crazily high and the reviews (non-spoiler) that I’ve read have pretty much just doted upon the way that Tahereh Mafi writes and how elegant, beautiful and poetic her writing supposedly is and that excites me so much. The final book in this trilogy, Ignite Me, came out not too long ago (early January I believe) so I’m not that late to get on the band-wagon and join in on the ‘Warnette’ fan clubs….am I? Also, the whole premise of this book also seems just super cool. A main female character who has a lethal touch and is manipulated by her government to be used as a weapon in a war? Sign me up NOW.

4. The ‘Under The Never Sky’ Trilogy (Veronica Rossi)
Okay so when I first heard about these books I was SO confused. I thought they were like a cheap cop-out of ‘Under the Dome’ by Stephen King and they just sounded very familiar to things that I’d already heard about or seen before. But naturally, I was wrong. This trilogy sounds so interesting and unique, with a storyline and premise that’s actually quite different to what I originally thought. I love books that are told through multiple perspectives so that drew me in already. I’ve also heard wonderful things about the main female lead, Aria, and even better things about her love interest and the main male lead, Perry. Who doesn’t love a strong male lead that’s also attractive, a natural leader and loyal/defensive? I can’t wait to own these books and finally dive into them so that I can finally understand the backbone behind this dystopian world, even though I have so many other things to read, I want to prioritise this.

5. If I Stay/Where She Went (Gayle Forman)
Ahhh, number 5. I’ve heard nothing but great things about Gayle Forman and her writing, particularly from her Just One Day/Just One Year novels. Even though If I Stay and Where She Went are supposedly much more emotional and heart-wrenching, I’m a sucker for books like that so I’m extremely keen to get to these. I want to hopefully read these, or at least If I Stay, before August as that’s when the movie’s meant to be released, but who really knows if that’s going to happen. This is one of the more raw, real to life books that I have on my TBR list as it deals with a lot of real-life scenarios and situations that aren’t at all fantastical or unheard of. The whole idea of ‘choosing’ to live or instead ‘choosing’ to pass away and move on is already an emotional concept, and the fact that the main character Mia is around my age makes this all the more intriguing and hits close to home too. The movie trailer for If I Stay really does look amazing and I’ve heard even better things about the sequel/companion Where She Went. Needless to say, I want to get to this very soon.

Leave a Reply

